Where Does Your Power Come From?

Power Line Tree Trimming: After

This was not what I was going to write about at all; but as I kept trying over and over to charge my phone today, only to find two bars showing on my battery each time I would check my phone, finally discovering the reason why my wonderful cellular device was not progressing further in its electrical charging phase; I decided to share this with you.

While my phone was attached to the cord that it is designed to be plugged in to an electrical outlet; I had not noticed that the other end, in fact, was not plugged in at all to the wall outlet. I was pretty sure that I had just charged my husband’s phone last night, or so I thought, on this same cord.

Cell Phone Cameras

Cell Phone Cameras (Photo credit: compujeramey)

Two of our daughters, Amber & Kara, had been in the kitchen last night making cookies. I knew they had unplugged some things, but hadn’t thought anything of it since. In their cookie making process; Amber was using her laptop for a recipe. As she tried to plug it in, it would not charge in any of the outlets. At first we could not figure out why. They finally came to the conclusion that the reset button on one of the outlets simply needed to be pushed in. I guess too many things going on at one time had tripped the breaker.

These things made me realize how sometimes we think just because we are plugged into church; you know, we go every week, never miss a service, or we have a certain area of ministry that we feel called to be involved in and we stay so busy “doing” for God, we have good “Christian” friends or groups that we are “plugged” into, that we rely on these things as our sources of strength.  And all these things are great; but they should not be our primary source.

I know that Hebrews 10:25  says  “And let us not neglect our meeting together”, but Jesus tells us in John 15:1-5 to “Abide in Him, that He is the vine; we are the branches, and without Him; we can do nothing.”

rooted poster (John 15:4)

rooted poster (John 15:4) (Photo credit: Grant MacDonald)

Just as my phone would not charge without being plugged in to the main power source; we need to make sure that we are not so plugged in to other sources, depending on them for strength, such as our friends, church, pastors, etc, that we neglect to check to make sure we are plugged in to our primary source, God, with a consistent, personal & intimate relationship with Him.

May you all be extremely blessed,

Sheri Haskins : )

Leave a Reply

