Thanks, but No Thanks, God, I got this!

1 Peter 5:7 says “Casting all your care upon Him for He cares for you.” It doesn’t say to take your cares to God, then try to figure out what God is going to do, when He is going to do it, and what you need to do while you are waiting on Him to do it in the meantime; but that seems to have been my way of turning things over to God in the past. I don’t know why I feel such a need to help God when He clearly does a much better job than I do in fixing things, and surely knows more than I do about what is better for me and what the outcome will be.

For instance, I would go to God and say, “Ok, God, we have all these bills that have to be paid and we still have to eat. I know that You said that You want me to take some time to rest and for my body to recuperate and heal; so I give all of this to You to work out, in Jesus name, amen.” Then a little time would pass and I would say, “Things are not looking so good, God. I know that I said I would let You work everything out; but maybe I should start looking for a part time job in the meantime; you know, just for a little while, until You get everything under control, then I can rest, ok?”

Over the course of the past two years, to say that I have had some physical, emotional and financial difficulties, would be an understatement, I believe. For those of you who have remained in contact with me know the circumstances that I have had and continue to face.

But as I was reminded recently by a friend as they prayed for me, “this does not change God’s plan for me; and as I face these upcoming events; may I view them as opportunities for God to prove His faithfulness.” This friend actually had no idea of what was in store for me later that day, matter of fact, nor did I. And as it turned out; the situation that I would face, proved to be more complicated and hurtful than I had anticipated. As I had asked this friend to pray for me that day, I expected their usual “I’m praying” response; but instead, received this prayer that changed my perspective on my circumstances completely, not right away mind you, but later.

As I began freaking out about things that I had absolutely no control over; telling God “I trust You to take care of this.”, all the while I was still trying to figure out what I could do while God was supposedly working out His end of the deal. I kept being reminded of my friend’s prayer “May Sheri view these upcoming meetings as opportunities for You to prove Your faithfulness.”

Going into the Thanksgiving holidays with already much on my mind; I then came home to find family strife that I had to deal with. This is supposed to be a time to enjoy being together as a family, and we can’t even do that. My flesh wants to tell one specific party to go jump in a lake, or pond, since we have one of those behind our house. “Seriously!” I thought, “Why can’t everyone just get along?”

So, there I am going through the Thanksgiving holidays trying not to think about what I have to face the week after, and dealing with arguing and strife in my home. Still holding onto those words “Father, we know this accident does not change your plans for Sheri. May she view these upcoming meetings as opportunities for You to prove Your faithfulness.”

“Count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.” James 1:2-4 Really, James, did you have to share that? Couldn’t you just keep that little tidbit of info to yourself? Who says that kind of thing? Seriously?

I’m sure that most everyone is familiar with the story of Joseph. He had a vision that he would rule over his family, Genesis 37. He shared that vision, and probably should have kept that to himself until God said it was ok to share it, but that is how we are sometimes, right? His brothers didn’t like it at all; so they sold him into slavery. That still didn’t change God’s plan for Joseph, though. It may have re-routed Joseph’s path a little; but it didn’t change the end result for Joseph that he would eventually rule over his family in Egypt. In Genesis 45:5,7&8 Joseph says as he reveals himself to his brothers, “But don’t be upset, and don’t be angry with yourselves for selling me to this place. It was God who sent me here ahead of you to preserve your lives. God has sent me ahead of you to keep you and your families alive and to preserve many survivors. So it was God who sent me here, not you! And he is the one who made me an adviser to Pharaoh—the manager of his entire palace and the governor of all Egypt.”

But before all of this; Joseph would go through being a slave to Pharaoh’s captain of the guards, then be imprisoned for false accusations by his master’s wife. Yeah, he went through a lot, but it also says that Joseph was blessed and favored by God wherever he was, even in prison. No matter what anyone tried to do to Joseph, it did not change the fact that God had His hand on him and had a specific plan for his life.

God has a specific plan for each one of us. No matter what is going on at the present time, we just have to give everything to God and trust that He will prove His faithfulness. I have learned it is so much more peaceful to just allow God to take care of me. As soon as I figured that out, the situation that I was facing the week after Thanksgiving, was postponed. I don’t know exactly what that means; but I am leaving that to God. I have peace about it. I know that He is going to prove Himself faithful!

”For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

In knowing that God has a special plan for each one of our lives; we should trust that no matter what circumstances may arise, whether they are caused by someone else’s choices or by our own decisions; that it does not change God’s plan for us. We just need to continue to put our trust in Him and He will prove Himself faithful; even though our path may get re-routed; the end result of God’s plan for our life has not changed! Thanks to my dear friend for reminding me of that : )

Be extremely blessed everyone,
Sheri Haskins

Leave a Reply

